Community contributes $675,000 in scholarship money to seniors

Authored by Jim Langham on May 23, 2012

Residents of the community contributed in excess of $675,000 in scholarship money to the Class of 2012 at the annual senior award night on Monday. South Adams High School principal Trent Lehman said that this year's total exceeded last year by $150,000.
"One chapter ends, another begins," said Lehman. "It's exciting to know that these seniors are going to go out into the world and make a positive difference. It is true that it takes a village to raise a child.
"Thank you, community; thank you, South Adams," added Lehman.
One of the major award winners was Dustin Wanner, son of John and Lisa Wanner, who was presented with numerous scholarships, including the prestigious Arthur and Gloria Muselman Memorial Scholarship, worth $30,000 to a selected senior who attends Taylor University.
Other awards presented to Wanner include the Howard Baumgartner Honorarium Award, Lilly Finalist Scholarship, Department Award, Athletic Boosters Scholarship, First Bank of Berne Scholarship and IHSAA Role Model Program.
Following the ceremony, Wanner attributed much of his success to the values instilled by his parents.
"My parents raised me the right way," said Wanner. "They taught me many life lessons. A lot of it has to do with your community service and the way you fill out your scholarships. It's important to treat people right, to treat them the way that you want to be treated."
Wanner added that he seeks to live his life by the Bible verse, Colossians 3:23, "Whatever you do, work at it with all your heart, as working for the Lord, not for men."
Kristal All, who plans to attend Ball State University and major in education, found it hard to comprehend the generosity of those who gave scholarships on her behalf.
"I never dreamed I would get this many scholarships; I am just so happy, I'm really excited about that," said All.
All received awards for being on the honor roll, perfect attendance, Department Award, National Honor Society, Lilly Finalist Scholarship, Kenneth and Eula Van Emon Scholarship and the First Bank of Berne Scholarship.
All attributed much of her success to surrounding herself with good people who encouraged her to get involved in volunteering and school involvements.
"I decided that I want to go into education because a lot of my teachers were really great teachers," observed All. "I want to be more like that."
This year's recipients of senior awards include: Matt Alig, Department Award; All, Leandra Betts, K. Robert Ehrman Vocational Scholarship; Chelsea Bollenbacher, Honor Roll, Department Award; Logan Chandler, John and Kay Boch Scholarship; Lyndsey Chandler, Honor Roll, Amy Meyer Memorial Scholarship; Ian Frank, Honor Roll, SASC; Department Award, NHS; Kyle Glidewell, John and Kay Boch Scholarship; Luke Grable, NHS, Honor Roll; Charlie Hirschy, John and Kay Boch Scholarship, eTeam Award; Scott Hoeppner, Honor Roll, NHS, Thomas Neal Dull Memorial Scholarship; Lindsay Hoffman, John and Kay Bach Scholarship; and Travis Hogg, SASC.
Also, Timothy Horton, SACTA Scholarship; Lance Hummer, SASC; Trevor Hunt, Honor Roll; SASC, eTeam Award; Ashlynn Jennings, Harold and Dora Ann Long Scholarship; Evan Johnston, Honor Roll, SASC; Chelsea Keller, Clayton Shuck Memorial Scholarship, National FFA-Ford/Moser Motors Scholarship; John Kohne, Honor Roll, Perfect Attendance, Derryl Lehman Memorial Scholarship, FFA-Craig Amstutz Scholarship, James Rumple Memorial Vocational Scholarship, K. Robert Ehrman Vocational Scholarship; Kristen Lehman, Honor Roll, SASC, Herman Bixler Memorial Scholarship, NHS, Class Officer, eTeam Award; Tim Lehman, Honor Roll, SASC, Adams County Hospital Auxiliary Scholarship; Josh McMullen, John and Kay Bach Scholarship.
Others include: Hannah Moore, Honor Roll, SASC, NHS, Athletic Booster Scholarship; Teresa Morgan, Department Award; Mark Muselman, Honor Roll; Trish Myers, John and Kay Boch Scholarship; Jordan Neal, Department Award; Brianna Nevil, SASC, NHS; Dylan Oyer, Craig Amstutz Memorial Scholarship, Department Award; Molly Page, Service Award/Choir; Kyle Raugh, SASC, David Habegger Memorial Scholarship; Dom Richert, SASC; Joel Schmidt, SASC, Rose Kirchhofer Memorial Scholarship, Scott Mathys Memorial Scholarship; Derek Schwartz, SASC, Ray A. Kroc Youth Achievement Award; Jenna Smith, Honor Roll, SASC, NHS; Mark Smith, Department Award; Mariah Sprunger, Honor Roll.
In addition, Jonathan Steffen, Perfect Attendance, SASC, Meshberger/LICA Scholarship; Shauna Sutton, John and Kay Boch Scholarship; Lily Taing, Honor Roll, Perfect Attendance, SASC, NHS, Women of Moose Scholarship, AMH Health Careers Scholarship; JD Tarr, SASC, Department Award, NHS; Drew Taylor, SASC, K. Robert Ehrman Vocational Scholarship, eTeam Award; Adrianna Teeter, Honor Roll, SASC, NHS, eTeam Award; Isaac Werst, Honor Roll; and Jacob Werst, Perfect Attendance, SASC/Medical Scholarship, Adams Memorial Hospital Auxiliary Scholarship, NHS, AMH Health Careers Scholarship.
School officials offered a special "thank you" to the South Adams Scholarship Committee which worked hard to faithfully raise funds for scholarships. Members of the committee include: Susie Amstutz, Susie Hreha, Margie Liechty, Todd Ruppert, Patti Johnston, Janene Teeter, Julie Baumer, Jody Lengerich and Lisa Smith.
Those who would like to be a part of the South Adams Scholarship Committee may contact Susie Amstutz at
"I would like to thank all of those who organized this and parents who raised outstanding young men and women," said Lehman. "We are truly proud of our seniors."


You need to be logged in to post comments on this article.