South Adams fills two vacant positions

Authored by Manda Arnold on Mar 13, 2013

The South Adams School Board filled two vacant positions during their regular school board meeting on Tuesday evening.
They approved the hiring of Katie Redwine as food service director to replace retiring Diane Wingler. She will start on April 15 so she can have time to train with Wingler before she retires at the end of the school year.
The board also unanimously approved the hiring of Rick Burkhalter as the new head football coach. The position became available when current head football coach Jason Arnold was hired as the new athletic director.
Lunch prices will be going up as the board unanimously approved raising lunch prices in order to comply with the Department of Education and the National School Lunch Program. The elementary school lunch will go from $1.65 to $1.70. The middle school and high school lunch will go from $1.70 to $1.80, and the adult lunch will go from $2.50 to $2.75. Reduced lunch, paid breakfast, reduced breakfast, adult breakfast, and milk prices will all remain the same.
Three overnight field trip requests were approved. The FFA Livestock Judging team was approved to go to Lakeland Community College in Mattoon, Illinois on Friday, March 22 and Saturday, March 23 and to Joliet Junior College in Joliet, Illinois on Friday, April 12 and Saturday, April 13. The board also approved the overnight field trip request for the auto service technology and machine trades state contestants. Mr. Dailey and Mr. McMillan will be taking nine students to Warren Central High School in Indianapolis on Friday, April 19 and returning Saturday, April 2 for the SkillsUSA state competition.
A $500 donation by Key Fasteners Corporation was accepted by the board, and will be used to pay for t-shirts for girls who participate in the softball camp.
Finally, the South Adams School Board recognized several students and sports as Examples of Excellence. Among those recognized were the boys cross country team who were the ACAC conference champs and won sectional for the first time, including Brett Affolder, Joel Hawbaker, Evan Liechty, Cody Sprunger, Simon Sprunger, Andrew Steffen, Clayton Rhoades, Brody Shane, Daniel Velasco, Cole Litwiller, Sawyer Miller, Daniel Steffen, and David Steffen; fall Academic All-State Athletes Landon Lehman and Evan Liechty for extraordinary accomplishments in the athletic arena and in the classroom; Sam Dellinger who was named to the All-State football team as a defensive lineman; Cady Farlow who broke the sectional record in the 100 breaststroke and placed 11th at state; and Sawyer Miller for placing 3rd at the state wrestling finals in the 113 pound class and LJ Moser who finished 8th in the 120 pound class.


You need to be logged in to post comments on this article.